top of page

Interview with stylist Eliza Grlj

Updated: May 26, 2020

Eliza Grlj is a RMIT Bachelor of Fashion Design student, directs and produces fashion films to communicate her conceptual design processes as part of her university assessments.

How has your story influenced your brand?


I will Answer this question as how it’s influence my Creations as I don’t have a brand at the moment. Growing up in Melbourne, with extensive resources and education, has allowed me to experiment with my work and try a really vast range of different techniques and processes. Melbourne being a well-established city with an excess of retail stores and a dominant consumer culture, has made me especially conscious about what I’ll be contributing to the already excessive and wasteful industry.


How do you feel about the future of fashion?


Worried but hopeful. Fashion is one of the biggest contributors to waste in the world. The industry is moving faster than ever before, creating more waste than ever before. However, the growing importance on sustainability and the inspiring creative people in the industry give me hope for a more conscious future.


What challenges have you faced within the industry?


As a student I haven’t really worked in the industry. Therefore, a challenge before I even start working is finding a job without having the prerequisite of ‘solid experience’.


In the process of being a designer, what has been the most valuable lesson that you’ve learnt?


To try create something as innovative and original as possible that I actually enjoy doing.


What inspired you to work in the world of fashion?


I always loved art and design, and really believe it has the power to be used as a communication tool to spread messages, movements and values around the world.

If you could send a message to brands about the value of sustainability and ethics, what would you tell them?


Sustainability is (or should be) the most important thing in the industry.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page